Ooey, Gooey Turtle Brownies

brownies, turtle brownies, chocolate, caramel, pecansLately my blogs have been sporadicly ย posted. Three one week…nothing for two weeks. I get home from the office and all I want to do is veg out and laze around all night. Could it be that the stresses of my office are bleeding into my personal life? Probably. And that is not good. But, whatever it is, it’s happening. But I want to try and get back to writing about the things that I love. So I’ll just get on with it…

Brownies.

I made brownies. Really yummy turtle brownies with homemade caramel sauce. Oh yes. I did that.

A friend said that she was really craving some brownies with caramel in them. So I told her, “I’ve got this. You’ll have brownies on Monday.” Thing is? I’ve never made homemade turtle brownies, just the kind you get in the box with the caramel sauce packet included. So I was on a mission to figure out how to do this on my own.

As I’ve mentioned to before, I love Ree Drummond (The Pioneer Woman) and I recently saw a back episode on the Food Network where she was making Easy Caramel Sauce. This was the solution! I don’t have a candy thermometer yet ::face palm:: and am a newb when it comes to carmel and candies. Just like the title suggests, it really is easy. If you can whisk, you can make this caramel sauce.

For the brownie I wanted something ooey and gooey, so the best fudge brownie recipe in my arsenal is what I used. It’s from one of our family cook books and is simply called, “Fudge Brownies”. The brownies come out perfect every single time. Use this recipe and you won’t be disappointed. They are so very scrumptious!

homemade, baking, chocolate, browniesThe consistency of this brownie is so outrageously gooey that they should probably be illegal. But I’m glad they aren’t. The salty, sweetness of the caramel adds a delicious contrast to the super dark and almost bitter-sweet brownie. Add some toasted pecans to that and the crunch sends these little wonders off the charts. It’s a miracle we all survived while eating them!

Until Next Time…
The Blushing Baker ๐Ÿ˜‰

 

Turtle Brownies

Easy Caramel Sauce
(http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2014/01/easy-caramel-sauce/)

1 cup Brown Sugar
1/2 stick Butter (4 Tablespoons)
1/2 cup Half-and-half Or Cream (cream Will Make It Thicker)
1 Tablespoon Vanilla
Pinch Of Salt

Fudge Brownies
By: Stephanie Harmon – First Lutheran Church of Iowa Cookbook

1 cup butter
4 1 oz. squares of unsweetened chocolate melted with the butter
1 1/2 cups of sugar
4 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup of flour
1/2 cup toasted, chopped pecans

DIRECTIONS

Mix all caramel ingredients in a medium saucepan over medium-low to medium heat. Cook while whisking gently for 5 to 7 minutes, until thicker. Turn off heat. If sauce is thin, just continue cooking for a few more minutes. Let cool (I put mine in the fridge for a bit).

Pre-heat oven to 325 degrees

Combine sugar and eggs in a large bowl with an electric mixer. Add melted chocolate/butter mixture and vanilla; mix well. Add flour until just combined. Fold in pecans. Pour batter into a lightly greased 8×8 baking pan. (TIP: Line your pan withย foil and then grease the foil so that you can lift the brownies out of the pan when they were done. They are so much easier to cut!)

Pour three rowsย of cooled caramel sauce over the uncooked brownie batter. Using a wooden skewer (or butter knife), swirl the caramel into the brownies just a little bit.

Bake the brownies for 30-35 minutes (they shouldn’t be “soupy”, but just set. Your toothpick will NOT come out clean). When done, place pan of brownies on a wire rack to cool.

Best served slightly warm with a nice, cold glass of milk ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

