Hot Cocoa Monkey Bread

baking, yummy, treat, dessert, family, potluck, simple dessert,

My oh my. It’s been far too long since I’ve posted anything. Because I’m not big on excuses I don’t plan to offer any. I will however given an explanation. Work at the office has been stressful and so very demanding that by the time I get home I just want to laze on the couch and watch Netflix (sidebar: I’m so enthralled with Parks & Rec right now I can’t even stand it! I’m blazing through it and don’t want it to end…ever.) I think that is contributing to my lack of creativity on the home/baking/beauty/blog front. So, not an excuse; just an explanation 🙂

Now, on to the good stuff…

A couple of months ago, I was scrolling through recipes on foodnetwork.com and found one that sang the siren song to my soul. Monkey bread. For real? For real. I remember getting so excited as a kid when someone would bring it to a church potluck or classroom party at school. The sticky-caramel-sweetness that held all of the bread together. And…BONUS!! You got to eat it with your fingers!! SCORE!! [insert fist pump here] Now, I probably shouldn’t tell you that I did a happy dance (think Elaine from Seinfeld) when I saw several variations on monkey bread on the Food Network website, but I did and it was glorious. So many to choose from, but I only had time to try one. And the one that won (see what I did there?) was Hot Cocoa Monkey Bread. Put hot cocoa in my hand and I’m a happy girl. Put monkey bread in front of me and I’m a happy girl. Put them into one recipe? Pure. Joy.

This recipe couldn’t be easier to make, because monkey bread in and of itself is easy to make. Cut up pieces of canned biscuits (normally a no-no in my book) dipped in butter and then rolled in cinnamon and sugar. Easy peasy! So Hot Cocoa Monkey bread is just as simple. Instead of cinnamon and sugar it’s packets of hot cocoa mix and sugar coating the butter, soaked biscuit pieces. And for good measure? Throw some chocolate chips and mini-marshmallows on top of each layer. Is your head spinning? It’s ok. Mine was, too. Just be sure when baking this to use a deep 10″ round Bunt pan. I used the only 10″ pan and it overflowed a bit.

hot chocolate, hot cocoa, monkey bread, baking, baker, recipe

Look closely at the melty, chocolate chips and the gooey hunks of bread. Are you drooling yet?

I was so eager to get my fingers on a chunk of this heavenly treat, that I didn’t care that I was melting my fingerprints off of my index finger and thumb grabbing a chunk right after it came out of the oven. It was delicious and sweet and sticky. Oh my! The hot cocoa mix gives this treat the perfect combo of chocolate and cream and the melted marshmallows lend a wonderful, subtle sweetness and depth of flavor to the saltiness of the biscuits. This dessert would be a great treat to bring to your neighborhood Christmas party, a class party at your kiddos’ school, a holiday potluck at work, or even just for you and your family while watching a Christmas movie. Your kids can help you make it, too!! Super simple and absolutely delicious!

 

Hot Cocoa Monkey Bread

Ingredients
1 1/2 sticks (12 tablespoons) unsalted butter, melted
Two 16-ounce tubes refrigerated biscuit dough, such as Pillsbury Grands
Four .7-ounce envelopes instant hot cocoa mix
1 cup sugar
1 cup mini marshmallows
1 cup chocolate chips

Directions
Special equipment: a 10-inch nonstick Bundt pan

Position a rack in the lower third of the oven and preheat to 350 degrees F. Put the butter in a medium bowl. Brush the Bundt pan with some of the butter to lightly coat.

Cut the biscuits into quarters. Combine the hot cocoa mix and sugar in a large bowl and stir together.

Working in batches, toss one-third of the biscuits in the melted butter, roll them in the hot cocoa mixture to lightly coat and add them to the Bundt pan so they are nestled together in an even layer; sprinkle with one-third of the marshmallows and chocolate chips. Repeat to make 2 more layers of biscuits rolled in cocoa, the marshmallows and chocolate chips. Sprinkle the top with any leftover hot cocoa mixture and drizzle with any leftover butter.

Cover the pan with foil and bake for 35 minutes. Remove the foil and bake until puffed and golden brown, 10 to 15 minutes more. Loosen the bread from the sides of the pan with a knife or offset spatula. Carefully invert the pan onto a serving plate, remove the pan and serve hot.

Recipe copied from FoodNetwork.com

Leave a Reply

