Mixed Berry Lemon Muffins

muffins, mixed berry, delicious

If I say blueberry muffins what is the first thing you think of? Is it the fluffy texture? The crispy edges of the muffin top? For me…it’s the aroma. While they’re baking. While they are cooling. As I pull them apart while they’e still warm and the sweet, fruity steam hits my nose and my mouth starts to water. Yes, for me it’s the aroma. I try not to make muffins too often because when I do, they don’t last long around the house. But I really wanted to try out a new muffin recipe, so I caved. I made muffins.

I read a recipe online recently for a sour cream based muffin and I was intrigued. I simply adore sour cream pound cakes (see my previous post Orange Pound Cake 2 Ways) and if that one ingredient can make pound cake moist, tender, and scrumptious I was willing to give it a try in muffin batter.

As I began the base, I realized I didn’t have any frozen blueberries!!! Aarrrghh! But I did have frozen mixed berries – blueberries, blackberries, and raspberries. (I like using frozen berries in muffins or pound cake because the fruit stays in tact while baking and the cake will end up more moist in the end.) I also had some Meyer lemons on hand. So I threw the zest and juice in as well.

The biggest problem I’ve had in the past is that the batter gets overworked and the muffins end up tough. No one like a tough muffin. A tough cookie, maybe. But not a tough muffin. So here’s your tip of the day – DO NOT OVER WORK YOUR MUFFIN BATTER. You will be tempted to work the wet and dry ingredients until they are fully incorporated, but DON’T!! This will over work the gluten in the flour and that is what causes your muffins to be tough and dry. Mix the wet into the dry until it is barely mixed together and fill your muffin tins with the batter. Just move on my OCD friends. Move on. You will thank me for it.

muffins, yummy, home baked, baked goodsThese muffins are tart and sweet and fragrant and will make your mouth water while they bake and fill your home with a fresh baked aroma. I am glad that I tried this recipe and I will gladly use this muffin base again in the future. Sour cream is certainly making it’s way into my baking life in a big way!

Until the next time…
The Blushing Baker 😉

Mixed Berry Lemon Muffins

homemade, baking, muffins, pastries
(recipe adapted from http://www.food.com/recipe/muffins-base-142502)

Ingredients
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1⁄4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
2 eggs, room temp
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar, packed
4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
1⁄2 cup sour cream
1 teaspoon vanilla
Zest and juice of 1 Meyer Lemon
1 1/4 cups mixed berries (I used a mix of blueberries, blackberries, and raspberries)

Directions
Preheat oven to 350°F and prepare muffin tins with non-stick spray, butter, or muffin tin liners, set aside.

Sift together flour, baking powder, salt and cinnamon, into bowl and whisk together until well blended. Add berries and lemon zest and toss to coat; set aside.

In separate bowl whisk eggs until very creamy and add the sugars in several additions whisking until thick. Add melted butter and whisk into eggs and sugar. Add sour cream and lemon juice and whisk vigorously until well combined.

Gently fold the flour and berry mixture into the wet ingredients until just incorporated. You will see some small spots of flour, but do not over mix batter.

Bake for 25 to 30 minutes on the middle oven rack until light golden brown and toothpick test comes out clean. Cool for 5 minutes in muffin tin and then remove to cool on wire rack.

Makes 12 regular sized muffins.

Leave a Reply

