Pumpkin Pie Dip

pumpkin, dip, cookies, pumpkin spice, potluck, dish to pass

It’s finally October! I love this month. The chilly breezes and warm sun. The leaves turn gorgeous shades of red, orange, and yellow. I get to pull out my Halloween decorations and scarves. Yes this time of year is my absolute favorite!

This time of year also brings about Mission & Heritage Week at work which is always during the week leading up to the Feast of St. Francis (I work for a Catholic non-profit). During this week we always hold a potluck lunch and every year I struggle to find something different, delicious, interesting, and easy to bring. I usually do some sort of baked good but have also gone savory with a one-dish-wonder (i.e. casserole) like Shepherd’s Pie. But this year, I just didn’t have the time to invest in an intricate dessert or a even a crockpot casserole. So I thought, what about an easy pumpkin type dessert? It’s fall after all (yay!) and as has been the case the last couple of years, fall is all about pumpkin spice everything (#PSL). I didn’t want to make pumpkin pie or bread or cupcakes – too much work. So I Googled for a pumpkin dip. Who knew that there were so many out there! I finally landed one that was easy, with simple ingredients and sounded super delicious.

It’s base is cream cheese – as are most dips – and it took me all of 7 minutes to whip up. You also get to dip gingersnap cookies in it. I love an excuse to buy gingersnaps in the box because they remind me of my Grandma Schultz. Yet another reason I just love fall. This dip is basically like pumpkin cheesecake with a gingersnap crust. And it only takes 7 minutes to make. Love it!

If you have a potluck or fall gathering to go to, you need to bring this along. It’s easy and can be made a few days in advance if you need to (it’s even better that way). It also transports really well. Don’t like gingersnaps? Not a problem. It would be delicious with graham crackers, pear or apple slices, or vanilla wafer cookies. This dish is yet another way to enjoy all thing pumpkin spice. Enjoy!!

Happy fall everyone!
The Blushing Baker

Pumpkin Pie Dip

from Taste of Home

2 cups of powdered sugar
1 8oz. package of cream cheese (at room temperature)
1/2 cup sour cream
1 cup 100% pure pumpkin puree (not pie filling)
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
1/2 tsp ginger
1 tsp vanilla extract (optional)

In a large bowl whip together powdered sugar and cream cheese until smooth. Add remaining ingredients and whip together until fully combined and smooth. Serve with gingersnap cookies (also good with fresh apples and pears). Refrigerate any leftovers. Can also be refrigerated overnight prior to serving to let flavors develop. Makes 4 cups.

Leave a Reply

